We use cookies to to enhance the service we deliver you. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies as described in our Cookie Policy.

Skip to main content
News Tech

Seven universities announced to lead battery institute

Image description required

Imperial College London is among the universities selected to lead the Faraday Battery Institute. Image: Man yvi

Business secretary Greg Clark has announced the universities that will lead ressarch into the next generation of battery technology at the Faraday Battery Institute.

The institute was announced earlier this year as part of the £246 million investment being made by the government to establish the UK as a leader in battery technology research and development.

Clark has announced that the £65 million project will bring together the expertise of seven founding universities along with industry partners and other academic institutions to accelerate fundamental research to develop battery technologies. 

The universities forming the institute are:

  • Imperial College London
  • Newcastle University
  • University College London
  • University of Cambridge
  • University of Oxford
  • University of Southampton
  • University of Warwick

“The Faraday Battery Institute will have a critical role in fostering innovative research collaboration between our world-leading universities and world-beating businesses to make this technology more accessible and more affordable,” Clark said.

“We have huge expertise in this area already and the Faraday Battery Institute collaboration between our seven founding universities provides a truly unique opportunity for us to bring together our expertise and an effort in this area behind a common set of strategic goals to ensure the UK exploits the jobs and business opportunities.”

Despite being put forward as a virtual institute, £13.7 million will be spent initially on setting up a headquarters.

The work done by the universities and their partners will be taken forward for commercial development through collaborative research and further development competitions.


End of content

No more pages to load