Skip to main content
News Supply

OVO Energy continues to grow new board with appointment of non-executive director

OVO Energy founder Stephen Fitzpatrick. Image: OVO.

OVO Energy founder Stephen Fitzpatrick. Image: OVO.

OVO Energy has appointed Jonson Cox as non-executive director of its recently created board.

The appointment follows the news that Stacey Cartwright would chair the OVO Energy Board in April, which was created following the acquisition of SSE’s supply business in January 2020, a move that bumped OVO up to the second largest energy supplier in the UK. It is overseeing the company’s customer brands OVO Energy, SSE Energy Services, Boost, Spark and CORGI Homeplan, and is an addition to the OVO Group Board.

Cox is joining the board from Ofwat, the water services regulator, where he has been chair since 2012.

Cartwright, chair of the OVO Energy Board, welcomed Cox, saying: “Jonson brings a wealth of valuable regulatory experience to the OVO Energy Board. This combined with strong experience in improving the customer experience and driving operational excellence makes him a fantastic addition. I’m delighted to welcome Jonson to OVO.”

Prior to his period at Ofwat, Cox helped oversee two major turnarounds in the water industry. He held high ranking positions at Yorkshire Water in the late 90s, and then worked as group chief executive of AWG plc, owner of Anglian Water Services and Morrison between 2004 and 2010.

Cox said: “OVO is one of the most innovative companies in the energy market and it's an exciting time to join and help support the team. With ambitions on climate change that have much relevance to all of us, I’m looking forward to getting started”.

The integration of SSE into OVO Energy has seen the company undergo a number of significant changes as its customer numbers have swollen to over 5 million. Pressure from the COVID-19 pandemic saw the company announce 2,600 redundancies, as customers turned to digital options faster than predicted.


End of content

No more pages to load