We use cookies to to enhance the service we deliver you. By using this site, you agree to our use of cookies as described in our Cookie Policy.

Skip to main content
News Regulation

Clean energy advocates recognised in New Year’s honours list

Image description required

A number of prominent advocates of smarter, low carbon energy have been recognised in the 2018 New Year’s honours list.

Both Joanne Wade, currently CEO at the Association for the Conservation of Energy (ACE) and soon-to-be deputy director at the merged Association for Decentralised Energy, and Jo Coleman, strategy director at the Energy Technologies Institute, have been awarded OBEs.

Wade was recognised for her services to energy efficiency while Coleman has been rewarded for her work in the field of low carbon technology and innovation.

Former Green Investment Bank chief executive Shaun Kingsbury and Carbon Trust chief Tom Delay have also been recognised, receiving CBEs for services to the UK’s green economy and to sustainability in business respectively.

Wade said she was “thrilled and humbled” to have received her OBE and was congratulated by the ADE this morning.

“Dr Wade is a passionate advocate for energy efficient solutions with a wealth of experience and a track record of delivering results and I am delighted to hear her achievements have been recognised.

“Dr Wade will add immeasurable value to the ADE and its members and we congratulate her on this well-deserved achievement,” ADE director Tim Rotheray said.

Delay said the award was “totally unexpected”, adding: “I’ve been honoured personally but feel tremendously proud that the work and achievements of the Carbon Trust have been recognised in this way. Our work is not yet done, and may never be, but I believe that our collective ingenuity and willingness to push boundaries is helping build momentum towards a sustainable future for business.”

Coleman meanwhile paid testament to the work of former ETI chief executive David Clarke, who passed away early last year.

“This award reflects the hard work and determination of everyone who has worked at the ETI, our project partners, members and advisors, but none more so than our dearly departed former chief executive Dr David Clarke whose leadership and vision inspired us all,” she said. 


End of content

No more pages to load